Underwater Telecommunication Cable GIS

Back in the day I was an analyst at a Underwater Cable Engineering Company I got to spend all day making maps of the undersea cables.

tyco
The Geospatial Team in front of the cable laying ship Tyco Dependable

These cables are the real information superhighway.  Satellites can transmit a paltry tiny amount compared to what fiber optic cables under the sea can do.

One of my favorite parts of this job was tracking piracy reports relative to where our ships were operating.  There is actually a good dataset I can’t seem to find from the US military on reports. Here is a screenshot of the most recent results.

from https://icc-ccs.org/piracy-reporting-centre/live-piracy-map/piracy-map-2014.  There be pirates above greenland

I went to Tyco Electronics Subcom webpage and found some old graphics I made in 2008!!

Here is a bigger screenshot image of the wall map I produced. I had to turn each cable line into straight lines and label all of them.

telecommunication map i made!!!
Sadly its hard to see the cable lines but there are hundreds, each painstakingly exported into segmented lines from excel table coordinates.
